In the City…..

For many, many years I have had a recurring dream that I am lost in NYC and find myself wandering around a neighborhood with enormous houses. In my dream, I think I must be really, really lost because the landscape is so different from what it normally is. It wasn’t until I moved to Brooklyn that I realized that the Ditmas Park neighborhood looks very much like the dreams I have had. This is about 10 minutes from my house, and is a little bit of heaven surrounded by a neighborhood that looks nothing like this. The minute I saw this, I had deja vu. I want a front porch like this one day. I’ll be drinking wine and watching the world go by. This house isn’t even the nicest one, or the biggest one, but I love it.

I hope that  I’m demonstrating to all of you the diversity in the city that I live in (especially Brooklyn), and why I love it so much.

15 thoughts on “In the City…..

  1. I had no idea that Brooklyn had homes such as these…was thinking urban, urban, urban. This is a gorgeous looking dwelling and it looks like it’s surrounded by a beautifully manicured yard too. Thanks for the view!

  2. I have always loved houses with towers and front porches. Looks like I’ll never get to live in one, but that was my childhood dream house.

  3. This is a great example of the diversity of your city, for it isn’t something I would have expected from Brooklyn. I too would like to drink wine on this porch, in the living room or even in the street’s gutter!

  4. I love that porch. You don’t see many houses with great porches anymore. I really like your images of Brooklyn. It gives one a great perspective on this borough.

    • One of the safest big cities in the world. It has changed dramatically since I was a child….Plus, as much as we can be aggressive and hold our own, I have seen New Yorkers do incredible things for complete strangers.

Leave a Reply

