Architecture

Last week I went on a photowalk over the Brooklyn Bridge with B+H Photos. It was a bit disappointing as it was disorganized and I really didn’t get much out of it. However, they had this “model” who was posing for everybody at one of the stops. Here she is in front of the Brooklyn Bridge, which is an amazing work of Architecture. Constructing this bridge was a huge undertaking – full of challenges, accidents, deaths (including a stampede that killed 12 people) and the attempted selling of the bridge in various scams.

On another note, I can’t believe we made it through six months of this project! I have never tried anything like this before, as I have a history of interests coming and going. Through these past months of being snowed in for much longer than any winter I can remember, having my foot in a cast, and other challenges, this has kept me focused. I’m also much more of a “left-brainer” so the theme and goal of a daily photo has provided just enough direction to make it not overwhelming (although at times I am uninspired).

I came here hoping to improve my skills in both photography and processing, both of which I knew NOTHING about. It has been a tremendous learning curve, helped both by the forum and the other people in this challenge. I even bought a fancy new camera. All of you have helped inspire me and teach me so many things. While I definitely appreciate your encouragement and compliments, I’d like ask you all again to give me real feedback! Please – I mean it! I love it when people have suggestions such as cropping, changing exposure, different processing, shoot it from a different angle, etc. Of course much of it is subjective, but your advice is always welcomed. I won’t be offended or insulted if my photos don’t “speak” to you. I promise.

And now, back to posting……..

19 thoughts on “Architecture

  1. Hey, congrats on making it to the turn Gisele! The next 183 days are the easiest. 😉

    I like lots about this shot. The arrow, the stickers on the stop sign, the model’s unique pose, the arches on the facade, the bridge is magnificent, and its all processed very well. My eye follows all these things around the perimeter though and doesn’t really know where it’s supposed to land or what the story is, so it ends up in the brightest spot on the photo, that patch of sky with the light pole.

    I’m not sure if it would work, but given this challenge I’d try moving to my right, getting down low and shooting up at the model with the goal of having her more in front of the bridge, than off to the side. If the model is ‘voice activated’ you might try asking her to move away from the sign and light pole as another option.

    Keep up the good shooting …. and thanks for the potato salad recipe!

  2. I’d have left her out of the picture altogether, and cropped just to the left of the lightpost and up from the red sloping board. I hate having blah skies in my pics, that’s just a quirk of mine and probably doesn’t bother others. Your photos show a streetwise edge that I would never think to capture, that’s a strength worth keeping.

    • I haven’t played around with replacing/brightening skies (yet). I may try cropping again or go back and try to shoot from the angle Regularman suggested (sans model – or with a different model)

  3. I only can say: Love your picture as it is! The angle, the colors, all fits together in a unique way. Very well done.

  4. I like this a lot. The vignetting around the edges is a great frame. I’d be interested to see Bill’s suggestions implemented, as well.

    Congrats on hitting the halfway point!

  5. Being a newbie myself I hesitate to suggest improvements to an image. Bill’s suggestion of getting low and shooting up at the bridge and model would be worth a try. The bridge is magnificent with the brick texture and repeating patterns.

    • Thanks, Lois. I should have added more – I’m no expert and sometimes I can’t articulate what I like/dislike…..but if somebody does have an opinion, I’m open to it!

  6. I’m like Lois. I have my hands full trying to iron out my own flaws without making suggestions to someone else. Personally, I like the grittiness of the shot and the processing. I defer to Bill’s superb eye.

  7. Congratulations on everything you’ve accomplished this year. Far more than I have done in any of my years of blogging. I commend you for reaching out and asking for constructive criticism. I don’t know if I have much to offer and must admit it’s something I’m pretty reluctant to do anyway for fear of seeming rude. But, if you’re game, I guess I am too and I just hope we’ll still be friends after!

    I think you have a great eye and sense of what to put in a picture and what to leave out. I think this photo is confusing and suspect that is because the B&H leader stuck this model in this incongruous setting for you to shoot. What’s up with that? I sure would love to see more of the bridge and the brick facade without the distraction of the woman.

  8. We have a photo of the Brooklyn Bridge on the wall of our living room. It was taken in 1898. It is a remarkable structure.

    I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed your photographic explorations of my home city. I truly look forward to seeing them every evening. You do have an infinity of subject matter!

    • Thanks, Bobbie! That makes me really happy. If you have any requests, I can try to photograph them. You may have figured out already that I am in Park Slope/Windsor Terrace.

  9. I think this is a great image. I also think that you putting “model” in quotations was great, too. If I can offer any criticism is is to the fact you don’t like mustard or fish. But we are all weird in our own little ways so I guess I will just overlook this major character flaw and say I will look forward to what you serve up on your blog for the latter half of the challenge.

  10. You could say that the cup is half full and in the next 6 months it will be topped off!

    I would say that “one way” to “stop” the distraction from the architecture is to loose the model. lol

  11. I love how you bring flavor to your neck of the woods….I am by far not the composition queen, but my first thought was why is that girl in the pic…lol I ‘m w/ everyone else…loose the model! I love the grittiness of the architecture…but I think a different angle would make it more unique…love Bill’s idea of getting down low…I have been working on that one too!

  12. I’m very impressed with your photography, Gisele, and would never have thought that you were a complete newbie to photography concept and processing. When I started my first challenge in 2009, I was in the same place as you. It was exhilarating to learn so much so quickly that first year – and I’m still learning, except it took me 2 years to move up to the DSLR. 😉 I know how much constructive criticism helps, so I’ll try to be more attentive to “what ifs” when reviewing your photos. What were they thinking with that model? First of all, she detracts from the wonderful architecture of the bridge and building. Second, they placed her in a horrible spot, next to that stop sign with the tall street lamp directly behind. I would lose the model. If you must have her, try shooting from a different angle to lose the street lamp in the background – maybe from the right and from a lower position. I’m still learning to look at the backgrounds to filter out distractions when I take a shot.

  13. Thanks, Karen! I appreciate all of the feedback. I am going to try to get to this spot to shoot it again, sans model (a model who wore no bra, had hairy armpits and giant stain on her camisole)

  14. lol. I was thinking the same things about the model, the pits really get me! But the brick wall and the bridge are beautiful. I would love to see what you would do differently with that location next time!!

  15. Hi…since I have no credentials in photography, I feel very awkward giving you criticism. I’d rather just suggest maybe a different way of looking at the subject which I don’t call criticism. My only tip is once one has set up a shot to take another look for the items which you might overlook at first glance (unless you have to take a quick shot in order to get the subject at all)…such as utility poles, wires, trash, an odd bit of color…anything you might have to “photoshop” out. My theory is to try to make it as perfect in the camera as possible so that only some light adjustment might be necessary. Regarding this “model”..I would ditch her too as I don’t find her anything to write home about. As for taking a photo of a person from lower than eyelevel…one has to be carefull not to accentuate double chins etc from this angle…especially when doing portraits…best to be “above” your subject then if not on the same level as it is more flattering for those of us with well-endowed cheeks, chins. I really enjoy all your photos of true city life as being from a rural, this is all so fascinating to me. You truly ARE doing a super job of capturing YOUR life and surroundings as YOU see it. Best wishes as we continue on this blog journey. Sorry I’m so late in commenting, life seems to have gotten so busy this summer and I’ve gotten behind.

Leave a Reply

