Debris

My area was hit a bit hard by Irene, with high winds and torrential rains. It was pretty scary for a while – but we were really lucky that we didn’t flood or lose electricity. It could have been much, much worse.  I went to bed knowing that the worst was on its way. I put on the AC because it was really humid and I wanted to drown out some of the noise. I woke up at 4am and it was crazy outside – the worst I’ve seen it for a prolonged period of time (we had a tornado touch down last year and smash through my town). I looked at my phone and at 4am I had two new emails – one from the city’s emergency notification system saying that between 4-5am we were under a tornado warning (highest probability warning) and also a note from my friend a few blocks away that an enormous tree went over on his block and that his ceiling was leaking all over his bed.

Here are some photos of the Debris – all within a few blocks from my house.

This is the tree in front of my friend’s house:

Around the corner from me, on the block where I lived for 10 years before moving into my current house:

The supermarket around the corner from me. Got Milk? This is the first time I’ve seen them closed during the day. An hour later, all of the crates were gone but the store was still closed, so I’m not sure if somebody stole them or if store staff came and cleaned them up.

On the road that lines the park. The park was officially closed, but we went in for a minute – trees everywhere, new “lakes”, lamp posts falling down. Not a good idea to walk around until the parks department cleans it up. I have to say, they were pretty on the ball – 3 hours later, all of these trees were removed.

Between an earthquake, a hurricane and a tornado warning, it has been a very, very long week and I am exhausted.

14 thoughts on “Debris

  1. Oh my, so much debris and destruction. I am so glad you came out OK. Your city crew is really on the ball if they were able to remove the trees so quickly.

  2. That is some really impressive damage! I’m glad you didn’t lose power. Oddly, in our town, there was little in the way of trees and lines down; some significant but not unusual flooding–but 66% of the town was out of power at one point (including us.)

  3. Glad you weathered the storm OK. You have some great photos to document its aftermath. You HAVE had quite a week! Who woulda thought such a combination of nature’s wrath could hit all within a week! Nerves must be shot by now!

Leave a Reply

